Big Bats and Delicious Desserts

G’day!

Just a quick post about a couple recent experiences….

This past weekend was the beginning of Enlighten Canberra. For 2 weekends in a row, the city puts on an arts and culture festival highlighting the parliament triangle area including the National Gallery of Australia, Portrait Gallery, National Library, Questacon, and Old Parliament House. At night, these buildings are illuminated with projections of different scenes, some interactive. A very cool experience in it’s self and one I highly recommend checking out but what really caused a stir for me was what saw while walking around at dusk: great big creatures high up in the sky.

At first I pointed up and said to Cliff “hey look at that bird in the sky, its kind of late for a bird to be out” to which he replied “that’s a fruit bat”. Within minutes every where I looked there were big black silhouettes flying through the sky and I do mean big… like put wings on Luke or Lola and that’s what I’m talking about. I’ve never seen a bat bigger than my own hand so to see these all at once with their big wings flapping was quite a sight! This country never ceases to amaze me.

A few pics from the night:

 

Yesterday I was feeling ambitious and wanted to make something nice so I decided to try my hand at a national culinary treasure; Pavlova.

Some quick Pavlova facts:

  • Created in the 1920’s
  • Created in honor of Russian ballet dancer Anna Pavlova
  • Some discrepancy remains as to where the dessert was created; Australia or New Zealand (for the purpose of this post we’ll say Oz)
  • The dessert is frequently eaten during holiday and celebratory meals

Now, when I said ‘try my hand’ I do mean literally because we have no electric beater here at our temporary residence so I figured if I can do whipped cream by hand… how much harder can it be to hand beat a meringue? Well the answer is MUCH. I estimate that I hand beat those whites with a whisk for 45 minutes, in intervals to give my little arms a rest and I still didn’t reach stiff peaks, I had to settle for soft as I think I had burned through all my caloric intake for that day but in the end it still turned out quite nicely and was incredibly tasty! If you’re asking ‘was all that effort worth it?’ my answer is probably not but at least now I know I can do it 🙂

The end result:

DSC00432

 

Until next time!

L

2 thoughts on “Big Bats and Delicious Desserts

  1. I can see why pavlova is a special dessert in Australia….and seeing yours makes me want some! Hope your arms have recovered. he he

Leave a Reply

