The Water’s Warm

This week I’m writing to you from beautiful Clearwater Florida; home of dolphin watching and world-class sunsets!

I’m fortunate enough to be here for work and have had an amazing few days exploring the area so I just wanted to share some of these experiences with you all.

First of all, man it’s good to be back! (In Florida that is) If you’ve known me for a long time you’ll know that some of the best times of my childhood were spent down at my Oma and Opa’s house in Sebring Florida and so this state has a special place in my heart. As soon as I left Tampa Int Airport and smelled that sweet florida air and felt the sun on my skin I was at peace.

Ok, onto the area: So, one question I asked myself when coming here (and have posed to several locals as well) is why Clearwater? In a state with an abundance of great beaches what sets this one apart? Well, let’s start with some geography; Clearwater is actually a piece of a larger beach picture, being one of many locations in a string of beach towns including Maderia and St. Pete Beach to the south and Palm Harbor and Tarpon Springs to the North. All of which are part of the larger collective known as the ‘Gulf Beaches’.

Clearwater Beach it’s self is gorgeous. Miles and miles of soft powder white sand and gorgeous blue water which to my surprise was pretty warm! I guess that last ocean I was in was the northern pacific…big difference. The other main reason I think people keep coming back to this area is the accessibility to so many other unique places.  If you have a car, you can drive north, passing through many quaint beach towns along the way or head south all the way to St. Petersburg. Each of the surrounding towns has its own draw, like Tarpon Springs; the sea sponge capital of the world, or Dunedin; the spring training home of the Toronto Blue Jays, not to mention that Tampa city centre is only about a 40-45 minute drive from the beaches. Needless to say there’s a ton to see and do in this area.

During my few days in Clearwater I’ve been surrounded by incredibly friendly people who’ll go out of their way to help you; be it sharing local knowledge or helping with directions, the locals here are proud of this place and they won’t hesitate to tell you that. There’s no animosity between the tourists and the locals that come for the beach here as you can find with other beach towns. It’s a symbiotic relationship that I think contributes greatly to the warm friendly environment of Clearwater. So next time you’re thinking a beach vacation is in order make sure you give Clearwater a good look…you won’t be disappointed!

Wishing you all sunny days,

L

 

Leave a Reply

